Realized: I am not a blog person.A travel/ex pat blog person, yes. Regular/everyday life/otherwise themed blog person, no. I just never have the energy/motivation to write blog posts about other things or when I am not traveling, living abroad or thinking about traveling/living abroad. Yesterday, I was walking around Exeter City centre trying to stay awake after arriving in England (managed to remain awake until 8pm thanks to Downton Abbey and Doctor Who on TV) and there were so many things I wanted to blog about. Observations, my trip across the pond, interactions (or lack thereof) on my trip, my hopes, fears, and joys for my new life in Exeter. The past year plus every post I’ve posted (which was hardly any) was torture. It wasn’t that I didn’t like the topics, or that I have never been in the habit (my relationship with the internet is very romantic and gluttonous-what a weird combination). I just never had that intense desire to blog like I did whilst living in South Africa. Did you see my very English use of “whilst”?

I guess my blogging comfort zone is one primarily focused on a field journal or ethnographic style. *GASP* that was an unexpected conclusion. NOT.

Anyway, I have more umph to blog now that my MA program and life in Exeter is an assured reality.

BASICALLY THIS IS WHAT I WILL BE DOING FOR THE NEXT 12 MONTHS:

Image

