So part II of my period films list is waiting to be uploaded…but it’s on my laptop at home and I am at work. Scandalous, I know, blogging at work, but I’m a good multi-tasker. Speaking of period pieces, you should check out my new blog, which is an adaptation of Persuasion by Jane Austen. The web address is austenpersuasion.wordpress.com. I created it for my summer class that I took in May called Jane Austen Now. It was AMAZING. We talked and talked about Austen, the various kinds and versions of adaptations and we watched quite a few. I had a really good time and especially enjoyed putting the blog together for my final project! If you are familiar with Austen or Persuasion, I encourage you to comment on the posts and other comments as a character from Persuasion or even another Austen character! It’s supposed to be an interactive project, so interact people!

This summer is going to be pretty quiet for me–just working and relaxing for the most part. I may be going on a short road trip back to NC, where I grew up, if I can convince/kidnap my mother to join me. She hasn’t been back in 10 years, since we moved and I KNOW our friends are missing her. Plus, I want to go stop by the UNC anthropology department and check it out, since I’ll be applying there for graduate school in the fall.

But other than that, work, the pool, and books will be my best friends. I can’t wait.

Here are some of the books I’ve chosen for the summer…so far:

1. Waiting for the Barbarians by J. M Coetzee.

He’s a fav South African author of mine so I am looking forward to this one ALOT.

2. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer

I got this as a Now Roz (Kurdish New Year) present from a friend and haven’t started reading it yet.

3. The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri

Cross-cultural experiences. I am all over that. I also am going to watch the film with Kal Penn when I finish.

4. Thus Spoke Zarathustra  by Friedrich Nietzsche

I bought this from a Borders going out of business sale. After taking my philosophy class this past semester, I am all about melting my brain with philosophical thought.

Also, he has a pretty awesome mustache, which pretty much means he’s legit.

For some great Nietzsche comics (as well as other philosophers and general “great minds”), you should check out the webcomic, Dead Philosophers in Heaven, which is exactly what it says. New Zealand produces some clever writers/creative types, which is pretty attractive, I must say.

That’s my book list so far, but if you’ve got some suggestions, comment below and I will most likely add them to my bagillion-long “Books to Read” list!

